20 Minutes of Reading Every Day

One of the most common complaints about books is that we have too many of them, but not enough time to read it. But how much time do you really need to read a book, really? How about 5 minutes per day? Surely we spend more than that just sitting in the toilet every day?

How about 10? How about 15? If you can spend 15 minutes per day on just focusing on reading a book, you’d probably finish a few in one year… unless you’re reading a tome like this one. I don’t know when I’m ever going to finish that book. I stopped about 15% into the book and haven’t got back to it since then.

So a friend of mine came up with a brilliant idea. A bunch of people agreed on allocating 15 minutes per day to read a book – any book, but ideally a “vegetables” book. You know, books that you know you should be reading, but never get around to. There is little value is choosing fast-food books such as the Dresden Files books, because for some reason I never seemed to have any issue finding time to read those.

After 30 days, then we’ll share our findings with the group.

The idea is that 15 minutes is a small enough commitment that most of us would be able to stick to the habit. And after doing that for 30 days, hopefully, will become the “gateway habit”, which cements the foundation upon which to build a healthier and more useful reading habit.

Since I like to be ambitious (read: probably overestimating my own will power reserve), I’d like to try with 20 minutes per day. Plus I’d like to try writing a blog post about my reading on that day too. And the book of my choice is An Introduction to Statistical Learning.

Let’s see how it goes!

11 thoughts on “20 Minutes of Reading Every Day

  1. hi!,I love your writing very so much! percentage we keep in touch extra approximately your post
    on AOL? I require an expert in this space to solve my problem.
    May be that is you! Having a look ahead to look you.

Leave a Reply

