Tiny Baby Steps to Good Habits

Installing a new habit is hard. Really hard. Especially, it seems, when it’s a good habit.

Bad habits? Damn, we don’t even have to try, do we? Habits that make you hate yourself after you’ve done it for the millionth time… those are the ones that are the easiest to stick forever.

I don’t know about you, I’ve tried the 18, 21, 28, 30-day program before, and they didn’t work. While I was able to stick to the habit for 18, 21, 28, 30, whatever days… after that I simply stopped doing it.

Some of you (yes, you, one of the 3 or 4 people who are read this blog) know that I’ve put up USD3500 into a stickk.com commitment to blog about CFA level 3 exam material regularly. The idea is that doing this helps ensuring that I’m familiar with the material and I start preparing early.

But it’s hard. It’s hard to make the habit stick. I have the material in my iPad, and when I open my iPad after a hard day of work, what do I do? I open a Marvel comic. Is it a matter of willpower? Is it a matter of motivation? Maybe and maybe.

Which is why I found this approach so interesting. The idea is that you start with such tiny baby steps, that willpower and motivation don’t even come into the picture. If you can’t even take these tiny baby steps, then you might want to ask yourself again whether you really want the habit in the first place!

We will see. I have joined the Sept 10-14 session — let’s see if it works!

Leave a Reply

