Fearless Crying

I shed tears when I watched Fearless last night.


It’s amazing. I mean, dammit, I’m not an easy person to move to tears. I laughed while watching Titanic. That dumb jackass Jack deserved his death, I say. Also, it’d be cooler if Rose had been the one to die, Jack got the Heart of The Ocean, sold it, and became a millionaire or something. Oh well.

I sat stone-faced through Jet Li’s execution in Hero/Ying Xiong. Movies by Meg Ryan, Jennifer Lopez/Aniston, Drew Barrymore, and all those cheesy chick flicks make my eyes wet, because I have to yawn so often.

50 First Dates? Cute, but nah, I kept my water all the way.

King Kong? Well, sure it’s a pity that they shot him down, but it’s not like he can marry Ann Darrow and have kids or anything, can he?

Fearless is different. Even the love (is it love? *shrugs*) story in Fearless didn’t move me one bit. I mean, hey, when Huo had to go and the blind but hawt Moon sent him off with tears on her face, hey, a man’s gotta do what a man’s gotta do, ya?

When Huo Yuan Jia’s mother and daughter were murdered by his enemy, well, Huo was not exactly blameless. No, no, no, no, no. No tears for you there, Huo Yuan Jia.

Instead, the tears flowed on September 14th, 1910, the day when Huo Yuan Jia, against overwhelming odds, fought to restore the pride and honor of Chinese people.

How he had changed from a cocky young guy who only wanted to become a kungfu champion in Tianjin to a mature man of character who defended the pride of his nation.

How despite the dirty, despicable tactic employed by the Japanese, he fought with all his strength, with honor, to the very end.

How his unwavering adherence to his code of honor caused him to grant mercy on his strongest–(and honorable, I must say)–enemy before giving his own life for his people, his birthplace, his fatherland.

When the Chinese people on that day agonized in muffled sighs over Huo’s last dying effort, my heart agonized with them. When they fell silent when Huo fell after pulling back his final deadly attack, I held my breath with them. When they shouted, jumped, and yelled “Huo Yuan Jia!” victoriously, my heart shouted and yelled with them.

What a touching movie. Highly recommended.

Oh, by the way? Huo Yuan Jia is a real character, he was a real person and a national hero of China. Here’s a picture of the real Huo Yuan Jia (a.k.a.: Fok Yuen Gaap, the sifu of Chen Zhen of The Fist of Fury/Legend fame.)

(I’d seen movies about Fok Yuen Gaap and Chen Zhen many times, but only later I realized that Fok Yuen Gaap and Huo Yuan Jia are one and the same–they’re just two different renditions of the same name.)

3 thoughts on “Fearless Crying

  1. Pingback: Het Up about Movie ~

Leave a Reply

