Whoa! A Master Degree Holder from Indonesia Corrected My English!

Some people never cease to amaze me. I got to know this guy from Indonesia, who claimed he held a Master degree (I won’t disclose from where). Anyway, in one conversation, he claimed that he spoke English fluently, and was obviously quite eager to prove his command of this language.

I felt quite weird, speaking English to a fellow Indonesian, so I said, “I just don’t feel the need to chat in English–I’m an Indonesian after all.”

Then the most amazing thing happened.

He said, “Wah… gramer [sic] lu kacau tuh” (Wow, your “gramer” is atrocious)

“Sebelum ‘need’ ngga usah pake ‘the’, ntar orang bingung.” (Before ‘need’, you don’t need ‘the’, or else people will get confused)

“Mustinya ngomongnya gini: ‘My feel no need in English’ atau ‘In my feeling there are needed chat with English'” (You should have said: ‘My feel no need in English’ or ‘In my feeling there are needed chat with English’)

Okay, Master. I bow to your wisdom…

3 thoughts on “Whoa! A Master Degree Holder from Indonesia Corrected My English!

  1. dude, “‘In my feeling there are needed chat with English’)’ is not English. “I don’t feel the need” is proper and common. “I feel no need” is ok but sounds a bit stilted. It almost has a pejorative tone, as though the speaker were angry about something and needed to stress their independence from the need.

    • Dude… are you serious? LOL. I was translating what that other guy was saying, which was amusing because he obviously didn’t know shit about English and was ever-so-confidently trying to correct my English, which was just fine.

Leave a Reply

